Deleting users

This topic explains how to delete users in HCL Quality Server.

About this task

The following table shows how deletion of users in HCL Quality Server is affected by the server security model option being used and by user privileges.

If this HCL Quality Server security model option is being used... And a HCL Quality Server user is... Then...
None A "normal" user There is no concept of an administrator user and all users have the same privileges, so there is no need to "delete" any users.
Built-in A "normal" user The user cannot delete his or her user details from HCL Quality Server.
An administrator The user can delete other users and administrators.

However, an administrator cannot delete his or her user details from HCL Quality Server.

Active Directory/LDAP A "normal" user An Active Directory/LDAP administrator (whichever are applicable) can "delete" that HCL Quality Server user by changing the user’s Active Directory/LDAP membership details.
An administrator An Active Directory/LDAP administrator (whichever are applicable) can "delete" that HCL Quality Server administrator by changing the user’s Active Directory/LDAP membership details.

Therefore, if you want to use HCL Quality Server to delete the details of a user (other than yourself), the server’s built-in security functionality must be used and you must be an administrator.

To use HCL Quality Server to delete a user:

Procedure

  1. Log into HCL Quality Server.
  2. Click the Administration navigation link.

    Alternatively, click the Administration icon on the Home page.

    The Administration page is displayed.

  3. Click the Users tab.
    Note: The Users tab will be not be displayed on the Administration page unless you are an administrator.

    The Users tab is displayed.

  4. Select the check box next to the user’s user name.
    Note: You cannot select your own user name.
  5. Click Delete selected users.
    Note: The Delete selected users button is unavailable until a user is selected.

    A confirmation prompt is displayed.

  6. Click OK.

    The selected user is deleted.

    A status message is displayed to confirm this.

    The deleted user will no longer be able to log into the server (unless a different security model option is selected and configured).

Feedback