Managing environments

Locking a HCL Quality Server environment prevents other users from changing the state of that environment, for example, starting or stopping stubs.

Locking and unlocking environments

Based on the domain level security setup in HCL Quality Server, you must specify the user details for locking or unlocking the environment.
  • Domain level security is disabled: You must specify a user name to lock and unlock the environment. The same user name must be used while performing any other operations in the same environment, such as starting or stopping of stubs and scenarios. HCL Quality Server environment locks do not use authentication because they are intended to facilitate collaborative working and not security. The locks check user names, thus preventing accidental changes to an environment that another user is using.

  • User security is disabled: If HCL Quality Server security is disabled, you can still use the HCL Quality Server Ant Client to lock an environment because the user name provided to the lock-environment command does not need to be a HCL Quality Server user.

  • Domain level security is enabled: You must specify the security token instead of the user name while locking and unlocking the environment. These security tokens are generated in the server Administration page. The environment gets locked in the name of the user associated with the specified security token. While performing any other task in that environment, (such as starting or stopping of stubs and scenarios), the user must specify a security token that was generated for the same user who locked the environment.

Deleting environments

Based on the domain level security setup in HCL Quality Server, you must specify the user details for deleting an environment.

  • Domain level security is disabled: Only a server admin can delete an environment (not a standard user).
  • User security is disabled: If user security is disabled, any user can delete an environment.

  • Domain level security is enabled: Only domain admins for that domain can delete environments in that domain. You must specify the security token instead of the user name deleting the environment. These security tokens are generated in the HCL Quality Server Administration page. The user associated with the specified security token must have the domain administrator role in the domain that contains the environment that is being deleted. The HCL Quality Server audit log will record which user deleted the environment.
Feedback